skip to main content

Search: Keyword:
Congratulations to the SHMS Robotics Teams
Posted On:
Tuesday, December 08, 2015
News Image

South Habersham Middle School’s robotics teams competed on Saturday, December 5 against eighteen other teams at the Northeast Georgia FLL (First Lego League) Regional Tournament hosted at Athens Academy. During the competition, teams were evaluated by judges in three areas: Robot Design & Performance, FLL Core Values, and Project.  Projects focused on finding solutions to trash related problems.  The teams are coached by SHMS technology teacher Ric Wallace.


Team SnapTrash is comprised of 8th graders Ricardo Cano, Charlie Carter, Ethan Contreras, Jacob Donaldson, Jonah Free, Alexis Laguna, & Nathan Tinocco.  This team became the first SHMS team to earn the most coveted award at the competition, First Place Champion’s Award.  The Champion’s Award recognizes a team that embodies the First Lego League experience, by fully embracing the Core Values while achieving excellence and innovation in both the Robot Game and Project.  Team SnapTrash will represent SHMS at the Northeast FLL Super Regional at Athens Academy on January 16.


The Litter Ladies team is made up of SHMS 8th grade girls, Kelsey Anderson, Madison Blackburn, Sydney Brookshire, Jasmine Evans, Josie Grindle, Lauren McEntyre, Maria Miguel, & Ashlyn Rose.  The Litter Ladies displayed a Top 5 performance in the Robot Game and scored highly in the Core Values evaluation.  This team was awarded the Gracious Professionalism trophy.  This award recognizes a team whose members show each other and other teams respect at all times. They recognize that both friendly competition and mutual gain are possible, on and off the playing field.  The Litter Ladies eagerly anticipate advancement to the Super Regional in January. 


Congratulations to these talented, hard working students.




Team SnapTrash pictured from left to right:  (front) Jacob Donaldson, Charlie Carter, (middle) Nathan Tinocco, Ethan Contreras, Alexis Laguna, (back) Jonah Free, and Ricardo Cano.


The Litter Ladies pictured from left to right:  (front) Sydney Brookshire, Ashlyn Rose, Maria Miguel, (middle) Madison Blackburn, Jasmine Evans, (back) Josie Grindle, Lauren McEntyre, and Kelsey Anderson.


View all Spotlights